James Blake Releases New Four-Track 'Before' EP

James Blake has dropped off his new Before EP a few hours early, presenting the four-track project with a behind-the-scenes making of “Before (Official Quarantine Video).” The visual features dancers performing in their private spaces while Blake creates the song in his home studio.

Per a recent press release, the EP is meant to express Blake’s “yearning for dancefloor elation” and is a return to his roots and love of underground club culture. The release also details the GRAMMY Award winning artist “finally having confidence to put [his] own voice on dancefloor rhythms.” The four videos were directed by Ryder Ripps.

James Blake will also be performing his new project through his first Boiler Room DJ set in seven years this Friday, October 16 at 5PM ET. You can sign up for the livestream here.

The artist’s coronavirus quarantine period has been especially prolific thanks to his release of a number of covers, collaborations and singles. Blake teamed up with slowthai and Mount Kimbie for “feel away.” He dropped the official cover of Frank Ocean’s “Godspeed” after premiering his take on the song via livestream. Blake also partnered with the Flatbush Zombies for “Afterlife” and rising Toronto singer-songwriter Mustafa for “Come Back.” He also premiered solo singles “Are You Even Real” and “You’re Too Precious.”

Watch the numerous visualizers for Before below and stream the new EP. In more music updates, Burna Boy, Davido, WizKid, Fireboy DML and other musicians joined Nigeria’s #EndSARS anti-police brutality protests.

Source: Read Full Article